linseed-0.2

When I started using wmii for my window manager, I wasn’t able to find a system-resources display tool that fit my needs. There’s probably one out there, but I figured it would be more fun to write one than look very hard, and thus the linseed project was born. It amounts to a collection of modules which display various bits of system information: CPU utilization, used swap, and so forth. There is a top-level script that ties them together for convenience, though linseed is equally usable embedded inside another program.

I don’t know how or if linseed will continue to grow. I’m using it as a bit of a platform for learning things about distributing python, and especially using some of the new extension/plugin systems, so that may result in changes. Also, linseed is linux-only right now, so perhaps someone will decide that it needs to be extended for windows or something.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

